How much will it cost?
Every student needs to know the answer to this important question. The cost of your tuition and fees will depend on your individual situation: Are you taking a non-credit or a credit (curriculum) course? Do you quality for in-state or out-of-state tuition? Are you taking courses with specific fees associated with them? When and how do I pay for my courses? Take a look below for answers.
Finance your Tuition
Durham Tech has teamed up with Nelnet to provide a tuition payment plan that breaks down your tuition balance into affordable monthly payments.
There's no interest, payment options are flexible, setup fees are affordable, and it's easy to enroll!
Learn more about Nelnet and how to enroll.
Note: If you have signed up for a Nelnet payment plan, do not stop paying after you’ve been awarded financial aid and it’s been posted to your account until you receive an email from Nelnet stating that your payment plan has been satisfied. Read more about frequently asked questions in the NelNet Answer Guide (pdf).
Tuition and Fees for Curriculum Students
All tuition and fees are due and payable at the Cashier's Window in the White Building, room 81, on the official days of registration. If registering by WebAdvisor, students may pay by credit card during the registration transaction. Students will not receive a bill and are responsible for paying by the established deadlines. Students may pay by cash, check, money order, or credit card (VISA, MasterCard, Discover, and American Express). Partial payments or credits are not accepted. No portion of a check made payable to Durham Tech will be given to a student except at the written request of the person making the remittance, and the written request must be mailed directly to the college’s business manager.
Tuition for Legal Residents of North Carolina
For the 2018-19 academic year, tuition for legal residents of North Carolina is $76 per credit hour or a maximum of $1,216 for students enrolling fall, spring, or summer semesters for 16 or more credit hours. Tuition is subject to change by the NC General Assembly. High school students enrolling in Durham Tech classes are exempt from tuition charges. View the Tuition and Fee calculation chart for more information.
For the 2018-19 academic year, tuition for out-of-state residents (persons who have NOT maintained domicile in the state for at least the 12 previous months) is $268 per credit hour or a maximum of $4,288 for students enrolled fall, spring, or summer semester for 16 or more credit hours. Tuition is subject to change by the N.C. General Assembly. View the Tuition and Fee calculation chart for more information.
North Carolina requires students to submit evidence of residency status when completing a college application. Students should use the Residency Determination Service (RDS) to complete a determination.
North Carolina law (General Statute 116-143.1) requires that to qualify for in-state tuition, a legal resident must have maintained his/her "domicile" in North Carolina for at least the 12 months immediately before this classification as a resident for tuition purposes.
The following definition shall be controlled with the interpretation and application of General Statute 116-143.1 as it pertains to the term domicile. Domicile is one’s permanent dwelling place of indefinite duration, as distinguished from a temporary place of abode; it is synonymous with legal residence.
- Domicile may be established as follows:
- By birth until there is a legally effective change in that domicile;
- By operation of law, as in the case of a minor whose domicile, in most cases, is presumed conclusively to be that of his or her parents; or
- By choice (after legal age is attained) a person may establish his or her domicile in a jurisdiction of his or her choice.
- One always has a domicile.
- One retains a given domicile until it is abandoned and another is established.
- One never has more than one domicile at a given time.
- Establishing a domicile by choice requires the overt act of establishing physical residential presence in North Carolina while concurrently maintaining the intent to make it one’s permanent home of indefinite duration.
- The requisite domiciliary intent is tested by evaluating relevant, objectively verifiable conduct which is held to constitute a manifestation of the state of mind of the actor.
- Any international student (non-immigrant or with permanent resident status) must submit immigration documents for review by the international student advisor. There are several visa categories which do not qualify a student for legal residency.
- Questions about North Carolina residency should be addressed to Admissions and Enrollment Services.
All curriculum students are charged a student administrative fees each fall and spring semester and in summer term. The fees are calculated on a sliding scale, based on the number of credit hours in which a student is enrolled. These funds support student clubs and social activities, computer and technology use, college parking and security, student ID cards, and accident insurance for students participating in college classes and functions. This fee is subject to change.
|5 hours or fewer||6-8 hours||9-11 hours||12 hours or more||Semester/Term|
|Computer Use and Technology Fee|
|$16.00||$18.00||$20.00||$22.00||Fall, Spring, and Summer|
|Student Activity Fee|
|$20.00||$23.00||$26.00||$29.00||Fall and Spring|
|College Access, Parking, and Security Fee|
|$18.00||$22.00||$26.00||$30.00||Fall and Spring|
How Much Do Credit Courses Cost per Semester?
It is important to prepare for the cost of college — including course tuition, fees, and books. Here’s an example of two students’ cost estimates for attending Durham Tech and paying the in-state tuition rate. One student is taking 12 credit hours, and another student is taking 16 credit hours per semester.
|In-State Tuition Rate* (Per Credit Hour):||$76||$76|
|Multiply by Credit Hours Taken:||X||12||16|
|Add Student Administrative Fee*:||+||$81||$81|
|Tuition* and Fees* for One Semester:||=||$993||$1,297|
|Estimate for Book Costs:||+||$500||$650|
|Estimate for Tuition*, Fees*, and Books:||=||$1,493||$1,947|
View a more detailed Tuition and Fee calculation chart.
Course Supply and Miscellaneous Fees
A supply fee is charged for some credit courses due to students’ use of a higher than average number of supplies. The supply fee varies, depending on the nature of the course and supplies needed. Examples of such additional expenses include instructional kits in Dental Laboratory Technology and Opticianry, tools in Automotive Systems Technology, drafting kits in Architectural Technology, scrub suits in Surgical Technology, and uniforms and stethoscopes in Respiratory Therapy and nursing programs. Some programs require lab coats and other miscellaneous supplies. Certain health programs also require professional liability insurance. Consult the 2018-19 Student Course and Miscellaneous Fees document for a comprehensive list of student fees, identified by course.
Continuing education students pay a college access, parking, and security fee (CAPS) of $5 per course and a computer use and technology fee of $5 per course. Students enrolled in classes that have no tuition costs are not required to pay the CAPS fee. Adult High School students do not pay a parking fee or a student ID fee.
A $5 fee is charged for each official copy of a student’s transcript. There is no charge for an “issued to student” copy. More information about transcripts can be found in the student records section.
Students may purchase most textbooks, supplies, instruments, and materials from the bookstore on campus. The cost of books and supplies varies with each program. However, most full-time students should anticipate spending approximately $350 to $700 each semester. Students should attend each class at least once before purchasing texts and materials. Check bookstore information for store hours and information about ordering textbooks online.
Tuition and Fees Payment Information
Tuition and fees may be paid at the Cashier's Window in the White Building (Building 1), room 81 or online via Self-Service, where account information and payment history is available to students. Unless a student has been approved under the college’s payment plan process, all outstanding bills must be settled by the established payment deadlines each term. Students may pay by cash, check, money order, or credit card (VISA, MasterCard, Discover, and American Express).
Note: No portion of a check made payable to Durham Tech will be given to a student except at the written request of the person making the remittance, and the written request must be mailed directly to the college’s business manager.
Tuition for Two Colleges
If a student wants to enroll at Durham Tech and another college in the North Carolina Community College System for the same semester, the total amount of tuition and fees may be paid to the student’s home college. Home college is defined as the college at which the student initially registers for classes. The home college assumes responsibility for arranging with the other college for enrolling the student in appropriate courses without further charge. This arrangement shall be made by an exchange of letters between the colleges involved.
Tuition may vary for courses offered as "self-support," which means it is based on the number of students enrolled in each class. Students must pay for all hours taken in self-support courses. Senior citizens and Durham Tech employees must also pay for self-support courses.
Durham Tech participates in the North Carolina Community College Student Health Plan. For more information on eligibility requirements, benefits, enrollment, and costs, contact United Healthcare.
View the Course Cancellations and Refund Procedures in the policies and procedures section of the website. For specific deadlines, including the 10 percent point of the semester, go to the Important Dates web page.